Regional accreditation is the primary type of institutional accreditation in the United States. Some institutions with online programs hold national accreditation rather than regional accreditation because they are unwilling or unable to meet the rigorous standards of regional accreditation. Many educational institutions holding regional accreditation do not recognize credits or degrees earned at institutions that are nationally accredited. This is an important distinction if you plan on transferring credits from one college or university to another during your degree program, or if you plan to pursue advanced degrees at other colleges or universities.

Adventist University of Health Sciences is Regionally Accredited

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

Adventist University of Health Sciences is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award Certificates, Associate’s, Baccalaureate’s, Master’s and, effective Summer 2016, a Doctoral degree in Physical Therapy. Contact SACSCOC at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Adventist University of Health Sciences.

Note: The Commission is to be contacted only if there is evidence that appears to support an institution’s significant non-compliance with a requirement or standard.

Other Accrediting Bodies

ACEN Accreditation
The nursing program is accredited in accordance with the standards as set forth by the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN). Accreditation may be verified by contacting ACEN 3343 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 850, Atlanta, Georgia 30326

Accrediting Association of Seventh-Day Adventists Schools, Colleges, and Universities
12501 Old Columbia Pike
Silver Spring, Maryland 20904
Phone: 301-680-6000
Fax: 301-680-6464.


The State Board of Independent Colleges and Universities Department of Education
Tallahassee, Florida 32399
Phone: 850-245-0466
Fax: 850-245-9685.